Healthcare SEO
Frequently Asked Questions

Healthcare SEO services benefit companies by helping patients find them online. Optimizing content for locations and questions potential patients ask about healthcare services is a sustainable way of driving targeted traffic to your site. 82% of patients start their journey to a healthcare provider with an online search. SEO is cost-effective, produces long-term results, and complements paid advertising. Smart SEO helps local patients find you.

10% of all online searches are health-related. Nearly 80% of patients search for healthcare providers before scheduling an appointment. 60% of marketers report that SEO delivers their most qualified leads. 68% of healthcare facilities provide only general information and fail to optimize for local search. If you aren’t optimizing, you’re leaving money on the table. Simply optimizing for local searches can increase your qualified lead volume tremendously.


Look at their client list. Ask for case studies. Discover their experience driving results for healthcare companies, specifically. Do industry leaders turn to them for marketing expertise? 

Digital Authority Partners’ clients include healthcare industry leaders like Blue Cross Blue Shield, Athena Health, and Omron. DAP’s healthcare SEO results speak for themselves. Our healthcare clients have experienced page one search results for primary keywords, 65% increases in page views and time-on-site, and 43% conversion rate increases. We get these results by understanding healthcare markets inside and out.

We know you want a simple answer. Question the agency that gives you one. It’s true but misleading to say that, according to Google, “crawling and indexing a page can take anywhere from a few days to a few weeks.” 

Properly executed SEO strategies build incremental value and momentum over time. Businesses most successful with SEO understand it as part of regular, ongoing marketing efforts. With consistency and maintenance, results aggregate. 

Healthcare SEO is distinct because it falls under Google’s YMYL guidelines, which rank healthcare content differently. In a nutshell, Google ranks pages based on “expertise, authoritativeness, and trustworthiness”. Many factors establish those qualities and results take time. Literally– domain age is a ranking factor.

The good news is you can still see results without #1 keyword rankings. Digital Authority Partners focuses on results above rankings. We target high-intent, low-hanging semantic search for near-term results as we build expertise, authority, and trust for long-term results and ranking.  

Another tricky question. When done right, healthcare SEO services cost nothing because they pay for themselves. That said, in our experience, the more resources you can devote to well-planned, properly executed SEO, the better your results.

If recovering costs quickly is a top priority, paid media can complement SEO efforts as your organic content expands and pages establish the expertise, authority, and trust Google requires to move you to higher rankings and more traffic.

Fortunately, healthcare is often location-based and opportunities for local SEO are less competitive and can yield quick results.

Depending on your specific healthcare field, new patient acquisition costs range from $36 to $286, with an average cost of $162 per patient.

Calculations for determining ROI are simple. First, you’ll need to understand your average patient lifetime value (LTV).

Calculate patient LTV by averaging the value of a visit to your practice. Multiply that by average visits per year. Multiply average visits per year by the average number of years patients stay with your practice. For example: $275 x 6 x 10 = $16,500.

Next, determine your investment costs and subtract them from your conversion value. Divide that number by investment costs to get your ROI. For instance, let’s say your SEO brought in 40 new patients and it cost you $80,000 to get them. The calculation is:

  • 40 x $16,500 = $660,000
  • $660,000 – $80,000 = $580,000
  • $580,000 / $80,000 = 7.25

In the above example, you generated $7.25 for every $1 spent on SEO.

Helping Leading Healthcare Companies
Increase Their Online Exposure Using SEO

Case Studies

athena health


  • 140% increase in revenue-to-date
  • 40% increase in app engagement
  • 36% increase in surveys taken by the 2M+ doctors
    on the app
View case study
The new performance dashboard of Blue Cross Blue Shield of Illinois shown on a desktop

BlueCross BlueShield

  • 75 reduction in time spent on email
  • 40 increase in submission speed of
    managed health reports
  • Worked with stakeholders to determine the most relevant data to display
View case study


  • Page 1 ranking for primary keyword
  • 65% increase to both page views and time on site
  • 43% increase in conversion rate
  • 20% decrease in bounce rate
View case study

Schedule your free consultation

Have questions about your next project? Schedule a consultation with a DAP expert today and find out what we can do for your business.

Why Companies Choose to Work With Our Healthcare SEO Agency

  • We’re Experienced. Our healthcare SEO agency results speak for themselves – view our case studies. Trusted by Blue Cross/Blue Shield, Athena Health, and Omron. We understand ADA and YMYL factors, and how to rank higher, get results, and avoid lawsuits.
  • We’re On-Time and On-Budget. We partner with 95% of clients long-term. You’ll know exactly where we stand with regular reporting and strong communication throughout our partnership.
  • We’re Award-Winning. Time Magazine – Best Healthcare Invention of the year. Consumer Electronics Show (CES) #1 Integrated Healthcare Digital Experience. Design Drizzle – Best Digital Marketing Agencies.
  • We’re Future Focused. Timely publishing of interesting, informative, high-quality SEO content is one of the best ways of connecting and staying connected with prospects and future-proofing your healthcare marketing.
DAP Team

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